The Provost website will be moving servers. Read more here.

Campus Arts Programs Task Force

Final Report

Follow the links to view the report and its appendixes.

Final Report and Recommendations [PDF]


A 2001 task force considered ways to move forward in curricular and extracurricular programs in the arts at Texas A&M University. One outcome of that effort was the formation of the Academy of Visual and Performing Arts. In addition, since that time, the programs in Performance Studies have grown, including the addition of a Master’s in Performance Studies. The Visualization program is now housed in its own department, and the dance program in Health and Kinesiology has continued to offer a minor. Further developments in the Glasscock Center for Humanities Research, Film Studies, and other interdisciplinary programs have advanced to support art programs on campus. With a focus on the imperatives and goals of Vision 2020, a current task force is to:

  1. Evaluate the current curricular programs and extra-curricular programs on campus as they operate independently and collaboratively with other programs on campus, and
  2. Propose initiatives, structures, or resources which will strengthen these programs with appropriate attention to the state of new and existing resources available in the University.

The task force should provide evaluative feedback and recommendations to the interim provost and executive vice president for academics by March 1, 2010.


  • Pamela R. Matthews (chair), associate provost for undergraduate studies

  • Juan J. Alonzo, associate professor of English, College of Liberal Arts

  • Cory Lynn Arcak, graduate student, Department of Educational Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development

  • Harris M. Berger, associate professor of music and performance studies, College of Liberal Arts

  • Anne T. Black, executive director, MSC OPAS

  • B. Stephen Carpenter, II, associate professor of teaching, learning and culture, College of Education and Human Development

  • David L. Chapman, professor of library science and director, Cushing Library, Texas A&M University Libraries

  • David A. Donkor, assistant professor of performance studies and Africana studies, College of Liberal Arts

  • Michael L. Greenwald, professor of theatre arts, Department of Performance Studies, College of Liberal Arts

  • David L. Kipp, director of choral activities, Department of Student Activities

  • James B. Kracht, professor of teaching, learning and culture and executive associate dean, College of Education and Human Development

  • Antonio C. La Pastina, associate professor of communication, College of Liberal Arts

  • Carol J. LaFayette, associate professor of visualization, College of Architecture

  • Jacob Lopez, student election commissioner, Student Government Association

  • Barbara Avila Marvin, friend of Texas A&M University

  • Timothy D. McLaughlin, associate professor and head, Department of Visualization, College of Architecture

  • Lindsay J. Mitchell, Student Government Association Committee Liaison

  • Jodi A. Sterle, associate professor and extension specialist, Texas AgriLife Extension Service

  • Thomas I. Vogel, associate professor of mathematics, College of Science

  • Joseph F. Weber, vice president for student affairs

  • Ward V. Wells, professor of architecture, College of Architecture, and director, Academy of Visual and Performing Arts

  • Tom Wilkinson, Arts Council of the Brazos Valley

  • Thomas M. Woodfin, associate professor of landscape architecture and urban planning, College of Architecture


Contact Us

For more information contact Janet Gonzales at