Climate & Diversity


To provide counsel to the President and the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academics on all ways of attracting and retaining culturally diverse students, faculty, and staff to Texas A&M University and to strengthen, sustain, and promote our diversity efforts in support of Vision 2020 goals.  In addition, the Council will assist the Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity in planning appropriate assessment and evaluation of all university units regarding  diversity-related endeavors.


  • Eleanor Green, dean, college of veterinary medicine and biomedical sciences (Interim Chair)
  • Erika Arthur, undergraduate student, executive director, Excellence uniting Culture
    Education and Leadership (ExCEL)
  • Linda Bair, representative, University Staff Council
  • Michael Benedik, dean of faculties and associate provost
  • Alsie Bond, director of community development, City of Bryan, community representative
  • Mary Broussard, representative, Brazos County NAACP, community representative
  • Bonnie Bustos-Rios, chair, Professional Hispanic Network
  • Jeff Capps, assistant city manager, City of College Station; community representative
  • Nandita Chaudhuri, research scientist, Faculty and Staff Committed to an Inclusive Campus Network
  • Rudy Gomez, board member, The Association of Former Students
  • Daniela Gonzales, chair, Multicultural and Diversity Committee, Graduate Student Council
  • Liliana Ibañez, vice president for diversity, Student Government Association
  • Wendy Jepson, chair, Faculty Senate Diversity Committee
  • Jeannie McGuire, founder & president, Project Unity; community representative
  • Chantrey Murphy, Graduate Student Association, appointed by the Office of Graduate and Professional Studies (OGAPS)
  • Lauren Olson, chair, Women Former Students’ Network
  • Doug Palmer, convener, Council of Deans
  • Janelle Ramirez, interim associate vice president for human resources & administrative services, Division of Finance
  • Tom Reber, interim vice president, division for student affairs
  • Ken Robinson, chair, Black Former Student Network
  • Perfecto Solis, president, Texas A&M University Hispanic Network
  • Reynaldo Spinelli, chair, International Advisory Board
  • Evelyn Tiffany-Castiglioni, chair, Department Heads Council
  • Chelsa Thomas, undergraduate student, president, Cultural leadership, understanding, and exploration for sophomores (CLUES), appointed by the Office of Undergraduate Studies
  • Jyotsna Vaid, professor, International Faculty and Scholars Network
  • Radhika Viruru, clinical professor, Friends of India Network


Loftin Announcement—January 13, 2010

The President's Ad Hoc Committee on Diversity and Globalization Final Report (7/30/2002)