The Provost website will be moving servers. Read more here.

Tradition of Excellence Staff Awards

Watch video of 2017 Awards Ceremony

2017 Tradition of Excellence Award Recipients Announced

Award Guidelines

The Academic Affairs Tradition of Excellence Staff Awards program was established in 1997 through the generous support of The Association of Former Students to recognize and reward superior service in the Division of Academic Affairs. Awardees are those who have made distinguished contributions to Texas A&M University through their dedication, initiative, outstanding achievements, enthusiasm, and attitude in their work. Awards are made annually and include cash gifts and other recognition. Candidates may self-nominate or be nominated by individuals or groups within The University or The Texas A&M University System.

Award Categories:

  • Up to fifteen total awards will be given with one Team award and fourteen (14) individual awards.  The individual awards will consist of 12 general awards with at least 2 dedicated for support staff and two additional special recognition awards, one for Leadership and one for Advancing Diversity and Inclusion.
  • The specific names of the awards will be:
      • “Tradition of Excellence Staff Award” for individual awards
      • “Tradition of Excellence Team Award”
      • “Tradition of Leadership Excellence Staff Award”
      • “Tradition of Advancing Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award"


    • With the exception of those applying for a team award, nominees must be staff who are employed at least 50-percent time and have a minimum of two years of service within the Division of Academic Affairs. For Team Award nominees, at least 75 percent of team members should be currently employed with the Division of Academic Affairs and have a minimum of two years of service with Texas A&M University.
    • Employees with job designations of director or its variants (assistant director, associate
      director, etc.) and below are eligible to be nominated for all Tradition of Excellence Awards.
      • Employees that support units/departments with administrative functions (i.e., administrative assistant, administrative coordinator, business associate, customer service associate, etc.) shall be eligible for the dedicated Support Staff awards.
    • Tradition of Excellence Award recipients are eligible to be nominated for the award five
      years after receiving a previous Tradition of Excellence Award.
    • Personnel holding faculty designation are not eligible for nomination.

    Nomination Materials:

    Nomination packets must include the completed nomination form and a Statement of Qualifications (three pages or less) that describes why the nominee should be considered for this award.  A resume is not sufficient.  Please comment on each of the criteria and any other contributions you may wish to address.  Include specific examples of activities and service.

    • Any nomination submitted will be considered for any of the awards for which an individual is
      eligible.  Selection for the Leadership and Diversity and Inclusion awards will be made at the discretion of the committee based on the quality of the nominations.
    • In addition, the nomination packet may include no more than two, one-page letters of endorsement/support for the nominee.  Individuals submitting recommendations should
      be knowledgeable of the nominee’s contributions to Texas A&M University and
      indicate their association with the candidate.

    List of Units within Academic Affairs

    Individual Nomination Form

    Team Nomination Form

    List of Winners 1997 - 2017

    Watch Video of 2016 Awards Ceremony



    William (Bill) McGlothlin, program coordinator
    email: | tel: 979.862.3645