Scroll back to the top

Academic Advising Update to Students

Published on Thu 03/19/20

Dear students:

Your safety and success remain our number one priority. We thank you for your patience and understanding during this time as Texas A&M University, like most other institutions in the U.S., transitions to an online format based on the CDC recommendations given the COVID-19 (“coronavirus”) pandemic. Visit the university’s dedicated website on COVID-19:
The professional advising community at Texas A&M is also transitioning to online, or virtual, advising. For the remainder of the spring semester, all advising will occur in an online capacity. Your academic advisor is available to respond to you via email, phone, or through virtual appointments. If you feel a face-to-face meeting is required, please contact the Office for Student Success at 979-429-3662 or email We will help coordinate the request with your academic college.

Carol A. Fierke
Provost & Executive Vice President


Academic Advising Update to Deans

March 19, 2020 at 12:45 p.m. CDT

As agreed upon in this week's Council of Deans meeting, academic advising will occur in an online format for the remainder of the semester. While many critical advising events remaining (preregistration, Q-drop and withdraw deadline, clearing May degree candidates, etc.), we must take proactive steps to prevent the spread of the coronavirus and maintain the health and well-being of all.
The attached messages will be sent to advisors and students, respectively.  The advisor message will be sent out through listservs for the Academic Operations Committee Deans, the Academic Advising Administrators, and the University Advisors and Counselors listservs.  Please feel free to share broadly as necessary.  
In the rare instance a student feels that a face-to-face meeting is required, the Office for Student Success will work with your advising leadership team (listed below) to help determine the best route for such a meeting. 
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences:                              
Dr. Mary Bryk (AOC Dean)                                                           
Ms. Kelly Essler (AAA Group)

College of Architecture:                                                              
Shelley Holliday (AOC Dean)                                                       
Dr. David Wentling (AAA Group)                                                 

Mays Business School:                                                                           
Dr. Annie McGowan (AOC Dean)                                                 
Dr. Linda Windle (AAA Group)                                                     

College of Education:                                                                 
Dr. Chris Cherry (AOC Dean)                                                       
Paul Timoney (AAA Group)                                                           

College of Engineering:
Dr. Angie Hill Price (AOC Dean)
Bonnie Bustos-Rio (AAA Group)
College of Geosciences:
Dr. Christian Brannstrom (AOC Dean)
Roxanna Russell (AAA Group)
College of Liberal Arts:
Dr. Steve Oberhelman (AOC Dean)
Allison Rivera (AAA Group)
College of Nursing:
Dr. Sharon Dormire (AOC Dean)
Todd Stricherz

School of Public Health:
Dr. Don Curtis (AOC Dean)

College of Science:
Dr. Lucas Macri (AOC Dean)
Sara Thigpin (AAA Group)

College of Veterinary Medicine: 
Dr. Elizabeth Crouch (AOC Dean)
Henry Huebner (AAA Group)

Transition Academic Programs:
Dr. Arthur Watson (AOC Dean)
Dr. Karl Mooney (AAA Group)

Carol A. Fierke