Scroll back to the top

Innovation School Closure and Staff Transitions

Published on Tue 08/31/21

Dear Texas A&M Community,

The Texas A&M University School of Innovation (I-School) will be dissolved on September 1, 2021, after four years of operations. The I-School was launched in the 2017-2018 academic year to engage students in high-impact learning experiences and to spur students’ potential for innovation, leadership, entrepreneurship, and creativity. Under Dr. Andrew Morriss’ leadership, those efforts took shape, and he inspired the development of programs and initiatives consistent with the I-School’s mission, objectives, and vision, which led to multiple partnerships and collaborations across the university. Prior to serving as Dean of the I-School, Dr. Morriss served as the inaugural Dean of the Texas A&M School of Law. 

The I-School awarded competitive grants to students for work on faculty-initiated multidisciplinary research projects (Innovation[X]), instruments that give better access to events and resources for creativity and entrepreneurship (Maroon Base), a database of all patents from around the world, a program for pro bono lawyers to provide free legal advice on business and intellectual property matters to faculty, staff, and students, and other programs to enhance connectivity and spark innovations across the Aggie community. The Innovation[X] program and Maroon Base have moved to LAUNCH, and the IP database and pro bono programs have moved to TAMU Innovation Partners.

With those projects now completed, or in the process of closing out, the I-School will formally close, and its staff members and programs have transitioned to other departments and areas of emphasis, including the Office of Associate Provost for UG Studies (LAUNCH), the Bush School of Government and Public Service, and the TAMU Innovation Partners group.

I thank the I-School’s team for the resources and programs they created for Texas A&M students, faculty, and staff. I especially want to convey my gratitude and thanks to Dr. Morriss for his leadership of the I-School over these past four years. I wish him the best as he takes a faculty position in the Bush School of Government and Public Service and the Law School.


Mark H. Weichold '78
Interim Provost & Executive Vice President