Scroll back to the top

2021 Academic Affairs Tradition of Excellence Award Winners Announced

Published on Mon 05/24/21
Twelve Texas A&M University Academic Affairs staff members and one staff team are being honored with 2021 Tradition of Excellence Awards. Awardees will be recognized at the 2021 Academic Affairs Division Social and Awards “Lone Star Picnic” Friday, June 11, 2021.

The awards are presented by the Division of Academic Affairs and made possible with support from The Association of Former Students. Awardees are lauded for their distinguished contributions to Texas A&M through their dedication, initiative, outstanding achievements, enthusiasm, and positive approach to service. Each recipient will be awarded a cash gift and a plaque to recognize the recipient’s place in a growing group of honorees.

Tradition of Excellence Award recipients are selected from four award categories: Staff, Team, Advancing Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion, and Leadership Excellence.

The 2021 Academic Affairs Tradition of Excellence Award recipients are:

Tradition of Excellence: Staff
  • Thadeus Bowerman – Program Coordinator, University Writing Center
  • Stacy Cohn – Business Administrator, Research Enterprise Business Services
  • Gregory Deitz – IT Manager II, Open Access Labs
  • Brooke Fletcher – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist, Academic Affairs Business Services
  • Casey Gros – Assistant Director, Scholarships & Financial Aid
  • Joel McGee – Director, Academic Success Center
  • Nicole Phillips – Financial Aid Advisor II, Scholarships & Financial Aid
  • David Poprik – Systems Administrator IV, Open Access Labs
  • Ra'sheedah Richardson – Assistant Director, Center for Teaching Excellence
  • Emily Weers – Director, Academic Affairs Business Services

Tradition of Leadership Excellence
  • Vivian Medrano – Director, Office of the Provost

Tradition of Advancing Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion
  • Deyanira Ely, Executive Assistant to the Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity – Office of the Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity

Tradition of Excellence: High Containment Laboratory Support Team
  • Jessica Cobos – High Containment Laboratory Manager
  • Frank Cox – BSL-3 Laboratory Maintenance Manager
  • Clifton Perry – BSL-3 Laboratory Maintenance Manager
  • David Perez – High Containment Laboratory Manager
  • Todd Wisner – Select Agent Program Manager
  • Wendy Wright – High Containment Laboratory Manager