Scroll back to the top

Texas A&M Awards Inaugural University Professorships

Published on Thu 07/04/19
Texas A&M University and the Office of the Provost will recognize five faculty members May 8 as holders of University Professorships. The new designation recognizes faculty who have demonstrated significant and sustained accomplishments in their discipline, earning them national and international recognition. The award also highlights the recipients’ commitment to inclusivity, accountability, climate and equity in their department, college and throughout their service at Texas A&M.

Recipients will receive an annual stipend for three years, and as faculty members in good standing they retain the title of University Professorship throughout their career at the university. Nominations for the distinction were submitted by department heads or deans, and the finalists were selected by a university committee and approved by the Provost.

The 2019 University Professorships include:

Ivan Rusyn,
Veterinary Integrative Sciences,
College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences

Vladislav Yakovlev,
Biomedical Engineering,
College of Engineering

Bhimanagouda Patil,
Horticultural Sciences,
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Deborah Bell-Pederson,
College of Science

Wendy Jepson,
College of Geosciences

Provost & Executive Vice President Carol A. Fierke said these awards join with endeavors like the President’s Excellence Fund and other faculty reinvestment programs to empower and advance the careers of faculty at every level.

A unique feature of University Professorships, which are funded centrally from research indirect cost return and philanthropic support, is allowing the holder to personally name the professorship for a significant emeritus or deceased Texas A&M University faculty member who has served as inspiration or motivation for the holder.

The inaugural University Professorships will be honored May 8 by Provost Fierke during remarks at a celebration of distinguished faculty. More information about the honorees and their professorship namesake will be featured on the Dean of Faculties website following the celebration.

Contact: Brandon V. Webb, 979-458-0312 or