Scroll back to the top

Texas A&M University Announces 2020 Presidential Impact Fellows

Published on Tue 11/10/20
Eleven eminent Texas A&M University faculty have been honored among the 2020 Presidential Impact Fellows. The fourth class of Presidential Impact Fellows joins more than 65 colleagues recognized in prior years with one of the most prestigious scholarly impact awards presented to Texas A&M faculty. The award was initiated by President Michael K. Young to recognize rising stars in their respective fields, and those who embody the university’s commitment to advancing knowledge through transformational learning, discovery, innovation and impact for Texas and the world.

Presidential Impact Fellows retain their new title for life, so long as they remain a faculty member in good standing, and receive an annual stipend of $25,000 for three years. The goal of this investment is to the make their research, scholarship, and other professional contributions more highly recognized nationally and internationally and to increase the likelihood that Presidential Impact Fellows will receive increasingly prestigious professional recognitions.
The 2020 Presidential Impact Fellows include:
Bush School of Government and Public Service
  • Dr. Kalena Cortes, Associate Professor of Public Service and Administration
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Dr. Chaodong Wu, Professor of Nutrition
  • Dr. Xiuren Zhang, Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
College of Architecture
  • Dr. Galen Newman, Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning
College of Education and Human Development
  • Dr. Jia Wang, Professor of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development
College of Engineering
  • Dr. James Caverlee, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Dr. Le Xie, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
College of Liberal Arts
  • Dr. Amy Earhart, Associate Professor of English
  • Dr. Theresa Morris, Professor of Sociology
College of Science
  • Dr. Lei Fang, Associate Professor of Chemistry
  • Dr. Christine Merlin, Associate Professor of Biology