Scroll back to the top

Texas A&M Selects Faculty as SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows

Published on Mon 07/12/21

Texas A&M University has selected four aspiring faculty leaders to participate in the 2021-2022 Southeastern Conference (SEC) Academic Leadership Development Program.

Each year, the SEC offers its 14 member schools this unique opportunity to identify, prepare, and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. The 2021-2022 class includes three associate deans and an associate department head, who will join more than 50 fellows selected from the other member schools.

The 2021-2022 SEC Academic Leadership Development Fellows are:

  • Karen Kirkland, Professor and Associate Department Head, Department of Nuclear Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Lucas Macri, Professor and Associate Dean, Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Science
  • Fredrick Nafukho, Professor and Associate Dean, Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development, College of Education and Human Development
  • Tiffany Radcliff, Professor and Associate Dean, Department of Health Policy and Management, School of Public Health

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program launched in 2007, and Texas A&M has appointed four Fellows each year the program has been held since joining the SEC in 2012. Program alumni have advanced to serve the university as dean, vice provost, dean of faculties, and associate provost, and other executive roles.

Fellows participate in a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own fellows and two SEC-wide three-day workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants. The two workshops for 2021-2022 will be hosted by the University of Georgia and the University of South Carolina.