Scroll back to the top

University Names Faculty Members As University Distinguished Professors

Published on Fri 08/23/19
The designation identifies faculty members who are preeminent in their fields and who have made at least one landmark contribution to their discipline. Their research and advancements are considered central to any narrative of the field. Past recipients of the lifetime title participate in the selection process, growing the ranks of Distinguished Professors by just a handful of scholars each year.

“University Distinguished Professors earn our highest faculty honor by impacting the world with their scholarship and landmark advances in understanding,” Provost and Executive Vice President Carol A. Fierke said. “These faculty represent the high caliber and global significance of research underway at Texas A&M University.”

For 2019, the new University Distinguished Professors are:

Francois P. Gabbaï,
Department of Chemistry,
College of Science

Roger E. Howe,
Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture,
College of Education and Human Development

Valerie M. Hudson,
Department of International Affairs,
The Bush School of Government and Public Service

Richard Miles,
Department of Aerospace Engineering,
College of Engineering

Dorothy Shippen,
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics,
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Jörg M. Steiner,
Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences,
College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences

Kirk O. Winemiller,
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences,
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
The seven new university distinguished professors will be inducted at a ceremony on May 8 recognizing them and honoring all of the University Distinguished Professors.

More information, including a complete list of University Distinguished Professors, is available from the Dean of Faculties.

View a photo gallery of the awards presentation here.
Contact: Brandon V. Webb, 979-458-0312 or