Scroll back to the top

University Professorships

Celebrating accomplished faculty.
Supporting career development.
Unique naming for professorships.

Launched in 2019, Provost Carol A. Fierke initiated the University Professorship program to recognize faculty who have demonstrated significant and sustained accomplishments in their discipline, earning them national and international recognition. The award also highlights the recipients’ commitment to inclusivity, accountability, climate, and equity in their department, college and throughout their service at Texas A&M. University Professorships carry an annual stipend for three years.

Nominations are submitted by department heads or deans. Finalists are selected by a university committee and approved by the Provost.

A unique feature of University Professorships, which are funded centrally from research indirect cost return and philanthropic support, is allowing the holder to personally name the professorship for a significant emeritus or deceased Texas A&M University faculty member who has served as inspiration or motivation for the holder. 

Learn more about terms, eligibility and view the list of University Professorships

Related Links:

Texas A&M Announces Inaugural University Professorships
University Professorships